Our Mission

Pro-Test Deutschland lends its voice to science. We supply information for everyone to help understand the role of animal experiments in research. By offering clarification on many scientific, ethical, legal, social, and psychological aspects of animal research, we provide a common platform to all those who wish to stand up for science. And above all, we say: Yes to research. Yes to science. No to ignorance, distrust, half-truths and hostility. Yes to insight – and Yes to a deeper understanding of what we humans are.

We believe that animal research is not only ethically viable but necessary. We are convinced that an overwhelming majority of the population will not and cannot do without the benefits of research on animals. It is often hard for people outside of the scientific community to obtain reliable information about what animal research is good for and why it is needed. Thus, to facilitate an informed and fair debate for the entire society Pro-Test Deutschland supplies information on one common platform and provides contacts to everybody who wishes to know more about the role of animal experiments in science.

Scientists are constantly, often painfully, aware of the responsibility they bear undertaking research that raises ethical questions, which experimentation on animals most certainly does. They still make the moral decision to follow through on their line of inquiry: because they are convinced of their methods, and of the results they bring. And because they believe that research on animal models is as ethically justifiable as it is scientifically indispensable.

What scientists often fail to do, however, is communicate their moral decisions and the ethical reasoning behind them to the broader public. It is no surprise, therefore, that scientists are often accused of a supposed lack of ethics and attacked for allegedly inhumane, groundless, and therefore, immoral treatment of animals in their research.

We do not think animal research lacks ethical standards or moral fiber. We think that all it really lacks is a voice. It is time for science to speak up. For it is part of a society that deserves to know the whole story. That is the mission of Pro-Test Deutschland.

Unsere Mission

Pro-Test Deutschland leiht der Wissenschaft eine Stimme. Wir stellen Informationen für jedermann bereit und helfen so, die Rolle von Tierversuchen in der Forschung zu verstehen. Wir klären über wissenschaftliche, ethische, rechtliche, soziale und psychologische Aspekte von tierexperimenteller Forschung auf. So bieten wir eine Plattform, auf der all jene sich zusammenfinden, die für Wissenschaft aufstehen wollen. Und vor allem sagen wir: Ja zur Forschung. Ja zur Wissenschaft. Nein zu Unverständnis, Misstrauen, Halbwahrheiten und Anfeindungen. Ja zu Erkenntnis – und Ja zu einem tieferen Verständnis dessen, was und wie wir Menschen sind.

Wir sind der Ansicht, dass Tierversuche in der Forschung nicht nur ethisch vertretbar sind – sie sind notwendig. Wir sind überzeugt, dass eine überwältigende Mehrheit der Bevölkerung auf die Vorzüge der tierexperimentellen Forschung nicht verzichten will und kann. Doch für viele Menschen außerhalb der Wissenschaft ist es schwierig, an verlässliche Informationen zu kommen, wozu Tierversuche gut sind und wozu sie so dringend erforderlich sein sollen. Um für die gesamte Gesellschaft eine informierte und faire Debatte zu befördern, liefert Pro-Test Deutschland Informationen, eine Plattform und Ansprechpartner für all diejenigen, die mehr über die Rolle von Tierversuchen in der Wissenschaft erfahren möchten.

Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler sind sich ständig – und nicht selten schmerzlich – der Verantwortung bewusst, die ihre Forschungen mit sich bringen, wenn sie ethische Grundsatzfragen aufwerfen – wie Tierversuche es sicherlich tun. Dennoch treffen sie die moralische Entscheidung, ihr Erkenntnisstreben fortzusetzen. Denn sie sind von ihren Methoden und deren Resultaten überzeugt. Und sie sind sicher, dass Forschung am Tiermodell nicht nur wissenschaftlich notwendig, sondern auch ethisch vertretbar ist.

Was Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler dagegen oft vernachlässigen ist, ihre moralischen Entscheidungen und die ethischen Gründe für diese Entscheidungen mit der Öffentlichkeit zu teilen. Es kann daher nicht überraschen, dass Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern oft vorgeworfen wird, dass es ihnen an ethischen Standards mangele, und dass ihre Forschung oft dafür angegriffen wird, mit Tieren unmenschlich, grundlos und daher unmoralisch umzugehen.

Wir sind nicht der Meinung, dass es der Wissenschaft an ethischen Standards oder moralischem Rückgrat mangelt. Wir meinen: Was ihr fehlt, ist einzig und allein eine Stimme. Es wird Zeit, dass Wissenschaft sich mitteilt. Denn sie ist Teil einer Gesellschaft, die es verdient, dass man ihr sagt, woran sie ist. Das ist die Mission von Pro-Test Deutschland.